How to Become a Property Manager in Kansas? (license| course| exam)


Kansas property manager career

(**) Disclosure: This post may contain affiliate links, meaning our company, JCHQ Publishing will get a commission if you decide to make a purchase through the links, but at no additional cost to you.

Property management may be a fascinating and lucrative profession. If you’re considering working as a property manager in Kansas, this is the ideal resource for you!

To become a property manager in Kansas, an applicant must have a real estate license. The individual can be a “Real Estate Broker” or a “Salesperson” who works under the supervision of a broker. The applicant must be at least 18 years old, complete 60 hours of pre-licensing education, pass the salesperson exam, submit an application, fingerprint card and fees to the Kansas Real Estate Commission (KREC).

But before you decide to pursue further in this profession, it’s important to know what the role of a property manager is. As a property manager, your duties may include finding and screening prospective tenants for a property, negotiating the lease terms. You could also be responsible for rent collection, property inspection, maintenance, repair, providing updates, and communicating with the property owner.

In this guide, I will focus on the steps on getting a “real estate salesperson” license, which is the entry license level. So you may begin your property management career by joining a licensed brokerage firm. I will also cover the FAQs about being a property manager in Kansas.

But before we start, I want to give a brief disclaimer. This post is not intended as legal advice or state/federal real estate training. It is for general information only. Please always follow your State laws and best practices.

A Table Summary of Becoming a Property Manager in Kansas

EligibilityEducationExamFees

At least 18 years of age

Have a valid Social Security Number

Have a high school diploma or equivalent


60 hours of pre-licensing courses

12 hours of Continuing education
110 questions

4 hours of writing time

Required passing score 70

Pre-licensing courses – $117 to $216 (approximately)

Salesperson application fee and background check fee – $75

Exam fee- $82

7 Steps to Become a Property Manager in Kansas

Step 1: Meet the eligibility requirement

  • At least 18 years old
  • Have a high school diploma or equivalent
  • Have a social security number

Step 2: Complete the pre-licensing education

Student is glad about the online real estate courses

You are required to take 60 hours of pre-licensing course from an approved education provider. The curriculum must include the following:

  • Principles of Real Estate (30-hour)
  • Kansas Practice Course (30-hour)

The courses can be taken either in a live classroom or online. I just checked with an education provider and the course fee is around $117 to $216.

If you hold a real estate license in another state, then you just need to complete the 30-hour Kansas Practice Course.

Also, keep in mind that the you must pass the Salesperson Exam within 12 months of courses completion.

When choosing a real estate school, I prefer one where you could take the courses online. This way, you could study at your own pace whenever and wherever. RealEstateExpress is a trustworthy real estate education provider. You may click here to see whether they offer pre-licensing course in your state. (**)

Step 3: Pass the Kansas Real Estate Salesperson Exam

A property manager is happy to pass the real estate exam and likes the exam preps.

The Kansas Real Estate Salesperson Exam consists of the National Portion (80 questions) and the State Portion (30 questions) with 4 hours of writing time. The required passing score is 70 or higher on both portions. It is administered by Pearson Vue and the exam fee is $82.

Here’s an Kansas Real Estate Salesperson Exam Guide covering a lot more in-depth about this test. Be sure to check it out.

Step 4: Join a licensed property management company

To activate your salesperson license in Kansas, you must be affiliate with a principal broker. This is the firm who would sponsor your real estate license.

Keep in mind that not all brokerage provide property management services to their clients. Most brokerages focus only on the buy-sell side of the business. So make sure you find one that specializes in property management.

There are a lot of property firms out there, but not all are appropriate for you. Working for a firm that gives you with adequate training and coaching might be beneficial when you start in this profession. As a result, you’ll most likely begin as an assistant to a property manager.

Rather than having you reinvent the wheels, an established property management company can show you a standard procedure in working with clients effectively.

At the time that I’m writing this guide, there are online job postings looking for property managers.

Here’s a page with a job search engine. You may check whether there is any opening position in your area.

Step 5: Submit an application to Kansas Real Estate Commission

Submit real estate salesperson application

After you pass the exam, Pearson Vue will provide you with the License Application. Review it carefully and provide them with the necessary information. Also, there is a section where the sponsoring broker needs to complete and sign.

Once all sections are completed, you may send it to Kansas Real Estate Commission along with the required documents.

Step 6: Go through a criminal background check

Since Kansas Real Estate Commission has the responsibility to protect the public interest, all real estate licensees must go through submit a completed fingerprint card and a Background Waiver form REL-150. There is a $15 salesperson application fee and $60 background fee.

Here is a list of agencies offering print service.

Step 7: Maintain the real estate license

realtor checking the real estate license renewal and CE requirement in Kansas

All Kansas real estate licensee must renew their license every two year. And you need to complete 12 hours of real estate continuing education during each license term, which consists at least a 3-hour course on “Kansas Required Code.”

The Commission may conduct random audits to verify the CE credit. Therefore, it’s better to maintain the CE records and proof of completion documents.

You may renew the license through the KREC MyLicense E-Gov. The renewal fee is $125 which can be paid by a credit card. (i.e., Visa, Mastercard, Discover, American Express)

So know your deadlines and don’t wait until the last minute to complete CE and renew your license. Failure to renew on time not only result in late renewal fee, but it can cause interruption to your business.

Step 8: Keep up with the Kansas real estate laws

In order to be remain competitive in the property management industry, it’s important to keep up with the latest laws and best practices. You may read over the following:

  • 58-2550 Security deposits; amounts; retention; return; damages for noncompliance.
  • 58-2504 Termination of tenancy at will
  • 58-2545 Rental agreement; terms and conditions in absence thereof.   
  • 58-2551 Disclosures required of landlord or person authorized to enter rental agreement;
  • 58-2553 Duties of landlord; agreement that tenant perform landlord’s duties; limitations.
  • 58-2559 Material noncompliance by landlord; notice; termination of rental agreement; limitations; remedies; security deposit

Here’s a snippet of what a property manager thinks about this career

Dan Gallagher, Zebra Cares LLC

I have been handling the management of family investments for 5-6 years now (licensed for a year to take our model public!). I am also a broker and investor myself, having done everything from complete gut rehab flips to buy and hold investments. I have been in the industry for over 10 years…

The biggest piece of advice I can give is to not take things personal. If you do your job correctly, which should be overly defined before you start to manage someone’s investment, then you are just dealing with people reacting to their situation (which can become very personal for them, since it is in their home).

But be polite and direct, don’t tell them what they want to hear, tell them what is actually happening. Also, always remember you are there to make the property owner fiscally happy first and foremost.

– Dan Gallagher, Zebra Cares LLC

Here’s another post I wrote. In there, you can read more on Dan’s thoughts about the property management profession. You can also find out what other property managers say about this career path.

Since you are reading up to this point, I bet you must be interested in becoming a property manager. If that requires you to get a real estate salesperson license in your state, your first step is to complete the pre-license education. You should select one that has an excellent reputation and a long-term track record of satisfying students. RealEstateExpress is exactly that! You may click here to check it out yourself. (**)

FAQ about Becoming a Property Manager in Kansas

A lady thinking about the property management career

How much does it cost to get a license to become a property manager in Kansas?

It costs approximately $373 to get a real estate license to become a property manager in Kansas. Here’s the breakdown:

  • Pre-licensing courses – $117 to $216 (approximately)
  • Salesperson application fee and background check fee – $75
  • Exam fee- $82

The above are just the costs of getting the salesperson license. In addition, to start a real estate business, there will be other expenses involved such as E&O, MLS subscription, phone, internet, and office supplies, CE, and renewal fees.

Also, you may want to invest into exam prep. This can increase your chance in passing the exam on the first try, so that you don’t need to waste time and money in retaking it.

How long does it take to become a property manager in Kansas?

It takes approximately 3 months to become a real estate agent in Kansas. But it also depends on the time it takes you to complete the pre-licensing course, exam, application, and get sponsorship by a licensed property management firm.

Can a felon be a property manager in Kansas?

The Kansas Real Estate Commission will consider the applicant’s honesty, trustworthiness, character and integrity. But whether a felon can obtain a Kansas real estate license is subjected to case-by-case evaluation.

the commission may refuse to grant or renew a license and the license of any licensee may be revoked, suspended, conditioned or restricted or a licensee may be censured, if:

(2) the licensee or applicant has entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, or has been convicted of any misdemeanor which reflects on the licensee’s or applicant’s honesty, trustworthiness, integrity or competence to transact the business of real estate;

Quote from Kansas Office of Revisor of Statutes 58-3050

If applicable, you may need to provide

  • a copy of the disciplinary order and explanation
  • an explanation and a copy of the settlement agreement
  • a letter explaining the offense

But don’t get discouraged as everyone has a past. The most important is that you can demonstrate that you will serve the public in a fair, honest, and open manner. If there is any disciplinary action, charges or convictions, it would help to submit along

  • Completion certificates for any treatment, therapy, victim panel, or group program
  • Character references or letters of recommendation
  • Resume (i.e., scholastic, community, volunteer, and work experience)
  • A statement on the applicant’s character, any rehabilitation efforts, or mitigating circumstances relating to illegal activities or misconduct.

Here’s another post that covers how to apply for a real estate license with a felony record. In there, you’ll find practical ideas which could help your application.

How do I start a property management company in Kansas?

As you developed the necessary skillset, rather than working for someone else, you may consider getting a real estate broker license and start a property management company. This allows you to hire other property managers, thus, lead to a scalable business model.

To obtain a real estate broker license in Kansas, you must:

  1. Be at least 18 years and have a valid SSN;
  2. Hold a high school diploma or equivalent;
  3. Meet the required minimum years of active real estate salesperson experience;
  4. Complete 60 hours of broker courses from an approved provider;
  5. Pass the Kansas Real Estate Broker Exam;
  6. Go through a criminal background check;
  7. Submit an application and fees to the Kansas Real Estate Commission

However, running a company is very different from working as an employed property manager. You need to figure out all the different aspects of the business, such as marketing, branding, prospecting, hiring, training, and accounting.

The expenses will also be a lot higher, you need to account for business insurance, staff’s salary and benefits, office rent, furniture, office supplies, software, many more.

If you are interested in starting a property management company, this is a MUST-READ guide for you! In there, I’ll go over step by step on how to get started, the tools to streamline your business and many more!

I have more questions about being a property manager in Kansas, whom should I contact?

You may contact the Kansas Real Estate Commission at krec@ks.gov for more details about the real estate license.

Here are more incredible resources to learn about the Kansas property management career!

If you want to know more about being a property manager in Kansas, I invite you to check out the following articles: 

(**) Affiliate Disclosure: Please note that some of the links above are affiliate links, and at no additional cost to you. Our company, JCHQ Publishing will earn a commission if you decide to make a purchase after clicking on the link. Please understand that we include them based on our experience or the research on these companies or products, and we recommend them because they are helpful and useful, not because of the small commissions we make if you decide to buy something through the links. Please do not spend any money on these products unless you feel you need them or that they will help you achieve your goals.

Disclaimer: The information in this post is for general information only, and not intend to provide any advice. They are subjected to change without any notice, and not guaranteed to be error-free. Some of the posts on RealEstateCareerHQ.com may contain views and opinions from the interviewees. They do not reflect our view or position.

Reference:

  • Kansas Real Estate Commission (source)
    • Salesperson Pre-Licensing Checklist (source)
  • Pearson Kansas Real Estate (source)
    • Kansas Real Estate Candidate Handbook (source)
    • National Content Outlines (source)
  • Bureau of Labor Statistics – Property, Real Estate, and Community Association Managers (source)
  • Kansas Association of REALTORS – KREC Requirements for a Kansas Real Estate Salesperson License (source)

Jacob Coleman

Jacob is a content writer and a real estate investor. He has experience working with different real estate professionals throughout the years. (i.e., appraisers, real estate agents, property managers, home inspectors.) In order to build a career you love, Jacob believes not only you need a thorough understanding about the profession, but you also have to find out what type of jobs could match your personality, lifestyle and expectation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts