(**) Disclosure: This post may contain affiliate links, meaning our company, JCHQ Publishing will get a commission if you decide to make a purchase through the links, but at no additional cost to you.
To become a real estate agent in Nevada, an applicant must be at least 18 years old, complete 120 hours of pre-licensing education, pass the salesperson exam, go through a background check, submit an application and license fee to the Nevada Real Estate Division (NRED).
This is the requirement after Oct 1, 2021. Before that you only need to complete 90 hours of pre-licensing course. But since we are getting so close to the date, I’ll focus on the new requirements in this post.
Before you decide to pursue further in this profession, it’s important to know what the role of a real estate salesperson is. To put it simply, an agent acts as an intermediary between buyer and seller in order to facilitate the sale or purchase of property. They help clients find homes that meet their needs and negotiate contracts with sellers for those homes. Some agents also help clients in searching for a rental property or lease out their units.
In this guide, you’ll learn about the step-by-step process to become a real estate salesperson in Nevada and FAQ on getting the license.
But before we start, I want to give a brief disclaimer. This post is not intended as legal advice or state/federal real estate training. It is for general information only. Please always follow your State laws and best practices.
A Table Summary of Becoming a Real Estate Salesperson in Nevada
At least 18 years of age
Have a valid Social Security Number
|120 hours of pre-licensing courses|
24 hours of post-licensing course for first-time licensee
36 hours of CE for subsequent renewals
|120 questions |
240 minutes of writing time
Consists of National Portion and State Portion
Required passing score is 75%
|Pre-licensing courses – $210 to $360 (approximately)|
License fee: $125
Background check – $40.25
Exam fee- $100
9 Steps to Become a Real Estate Agent in Nevada
Step 1: Meet the eligibility requirement
- At least 18 years old
- Have a social security number
Step 2: Complete the pre-licensing education
You are required to take 120 hours of pre-licensing course from an approved education provider. The curriculum must include:
- 45 hours or 3 college credits Real Estate Principles.
- 45 hours or 3 college credits Real Estate Law (must have 18 hours Nevada law).
- 15 hours or 1 college credit in contracts in real estate transaction to the extent allowed in the capacity of the licensee.
- 15 hours or 1 college credit in agency which consist 3 hours of foundation of relationship between broker and agents and 3 hours of risk reduction.
I just checked with an approved education provider. The course fee is around $210 to $360. After you complete the pre-licensing courses, you must write the real estate exam within 12 months.
When choosing a real estate school, I prefer one where you could take the courses online. This way, you could study at your own pace whenever and wherever. RealEstateExpress is a trustworthy real estate education provider. You may click here to see whether they offer pre-licensing course in your state. (**)
Step 3: Pass the Nevada Real Estate Salesperson Exam
The Nevada Real Estate Salesperson Exam has 120 questions with 240 minutes of writing time. It consists of the National Portion and the State Portion. The required passing score is 75% or higher. It is administered by Pearson Vue and the exam fee is $100.
Here’s an Nevada Real Estate Salesperson Exam Guide, where I cover a lot more in-depth about this test. Be sure to check it out.
Step 6: Submit an application to Nevada Real Estate Division
To register with the Nevada Real Estate Division, you need to submit a Salesperson Application (Form 549). You must do so within 12 months of passing the real estate exam.
In there, it will ask for your personal details, employment history, the pre-licensing course completion certificate, and some background questions.
There is a $125 license fee. You may pay it with a check made payable to Nevada Real Estate Division or cash in the exact amount. The Division also accept a credit card, but there will be a 2% convenience fee.
Once all the required documents are in good order, you may mail them to:
DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS AND INDUSTRY
REAL ESTATE DIVISION
3300 W. Sahara Ave., Suite 350, Las Vegas, Nevada 89102
Step 7: Go through a background check
The Nevada Real Estate Division is responsible for issuing real estate licenses and regulate the industry. According to the Iowa Code 543B.15(9), to protect the public interest, all real estate licensees must go through a criminal history background check.
As part of the application process, you will submit a fingerprinting card through an Authorized Fingerprinting Vendor listed on the Form 656. The background check fee is $40.25.
Step 8: Join a real estate brokerage
To activate your salesperson license In Nevada, you must be affiliate with a principal broker. This is the firm who would sponsor your real estate license. On the Salesperson application, you need to include the license number of the Broker/ Sales Manager/ Office Manager. They also need to sign the form.
Finding a good trainer is crucial at the initial stage of your real estate career. It’s important to learn a repeatable and systematic process in running your business profitably. When choosing a real estate brokerage, many people only focus on the commission split, but there are many other factors you also need to consider.
For example, what type of training will they provide? Will they equip you with the skills in finding qualify prospects and closing a sale? Is there a shared office space you could use? Can the brokerage provide you with adequate administrative and marketing support? Will they provide you with leads to work on? Do they utilize up-to-date technology (i.e.: CRM, software subscription) to streamline the daily workflow.
Step 9: Maintain the real estate license
For first-time Nevada real estate licensees, the license is valid for one year. You must complete 30 hours of Post-Licensing courses. For those whom is not required to take post-licensing courses, they need to complete 24 hours of CE, which includes:
- 3 hours Agency
- 3 hours Contracts
- 3 hours Ethics
- 3 hours Law & Legislation
- 12 hours of General courses with an optional maximum of 3 hours in personal development.
For subsequent renewals are valid for 2 years, you need to complete 36 hours of real estate continuing education during each license term. The curriculum must include:
- 3 hours Agency
- 6 hours Contracts
- 3 hours Ethics
- 3 hours Nevada Law3 hours Risk Reduction
- 18 Hours General
You may renew the license by completing the Form 580 and the fee is $195.
The Division may conduct random audits to verify the CE credit. Therefore, it’s better to maintain the CE records and proof of completion documents.
So know your deadlines and don’t wait until the last minute to complete CE and renew your license. Failure to renew on time not only result in late renewal fee, but it can cause interruption to your business.
A Video on How to Get a Real Estate License in Nevada
If you are reading up to this point, I bet you must be interested in getting a real estate license. Your first step is to complete the pre-licensing courses. You should select one that has an excellent reputation and long-term track record of satisfying students. RealEstateExpress is exactly that! You may click here to check it out yourself. (**)
FAQ about Real Estate License in Nevada
How much does it cost to get a real estate license in Nevada?
It costs approximately $625.25 to get a real estate license in Nevada. Here’s the breakdown:
- Pre-licensing courses – $210 to $360 (approximately)
- License fee: $125
- Background check – $40.25
- Exam fee- $100
The above are just the costs of getting the salesperson license. In addition, to start a real estate business, there will be other expenses involved such as E&O, MLS subscription, phone, internet, and office supplies, post-licensing courses, CE, and renewal fees.
Also, you may want to invest into exam prep. This can increase your chance in passing the exam on the first try, so that you don’t need to waste time and money in retaking it.
How long does it take to become a real estate agent in Nevada?
It takes approximately four months to become a real estate agent in Nevada. But it also depends on the time it takes you to complete the pre-licensing course, exam, application, and get sponsorship by a licensed real estate brokerage.
Do you need a high school diploma to be a real estate agent in Nevada?
Real estate agent in Nevada does not require a high school diploma. But suppose you have taken college courses from an approved education provider on Real Estate Principles, Real Estate Laws (Nevada Law), Contracts in Real Estate Transaction, Agency. In that case, they could be eligible to qualify for the pre-licensing courses.
How long is a Nevada real estate license good for?
For first-time licensees, the Nevada real estate salesperson license is good for one year. For subsequent renewals, it is valid for two years.
How much does it cost to renew your real estate license in Nevada?
It costs $195 to renew a real estate license in Nevada. But you also need to account for the post-licensing courses and continuing education. The tuition of the post-licensing course is about $195, and the CE is about $135 (online) +$150 (in person).
What states have reciprocity with Nevada real estate license?
Nevada has reciprocity agreements with
- South Carolina
- West Virginia
By applying through reciprocity, out-of-state applicants must:
- Submit to a Salesperson Application (Form 549)
- Provide a certified license history (Must be dated within 90 days of application date).
- Pass the Nevada state exam within the 12 months before the application submission.
- Fingerprint verification form issued by an approved Fingerprint Vendor.
For non-Nevada residents, you also need to submit the notarized “Consent to service of process” Form 656.
Can a felon be a real estate salesperson in Nevada?
The Nevada Real Estate Division will consider the applicant’s honesty, trustworthiness, character and integrity. But whether a felon can obtain a real estate license is subjected to case-by-case evaluation.
2. The Division:
(a) May deny a license to any person who has been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty, guilty but mentally ill or nolo contendere to, forgery, embezzlement, obtaining money under false pretenses, larceny, extortion, conspiracy to defraud, engaging in a real estate business without a license, possessing for the purpose of sale any controlled substance or any crime involving moral turpitude, in any court of competent jurisdiction in the United States or elsewhere; and
(b) Shall not issue a license to such a person until at least 3 years after:
(1) The person pays any fine or restitution ordered by the court; or
(2) The expiration of the period of the person’s parole, probation or sentence,
whichever is later.
3. Suspension or revocation of a license pursuant to this chapter or any prior revocation or current suspension in this or any other state, district or territory of the United States or any foreign country before the date of the application is grounds for refusal to grant a license.Quote from NRS 645.330 General qualifications of applicant; grounds for denial of application; eligibility for licensing as broker.
But don’t get discouraged as everyone has a past. The most important is that you can demonstrate that you will serve the public in a fair, honest, and open manner.
Here’s another post that covers how to apply for a real estate license with a felony record. In there, you’ll find practical ideas which could help your application.
How to become a commercial real estate agent in Nevada?
To become a commercial real estate agent in Nevada, an applicant must be at least 18 years old, complete 120 hours of pre-licensing education, pass the salesperson exam, go through a background check, submit an application and license fee to the Nevada Real Estate Division.
Basically, it is the same requirement as we just went through because most states do not issue separate licenses for residential and commercial agents.
Furthermore, if you are going to pursue a career as a CRE agent, you should look for a brokerage that could give you the right support and resources.
Here’s the “Complete Guide to a Commercial Real Estate Agent Career“, where I cover the career outlook, earning potential, and valuable feedback from CRE agents. Be sure to check it out.
I have more questions about the Nevada real estate license, whom should I contact?
You may contact the Nevada Real Estate Division for more details about the real estate license.
Here are more incredible resources to learn about the Nevada real estate career!
This article is part of the “Nevada Real Estate Career Series.” If you want to know more about being a real estate agent in Nevada, I invite you to check out the following articles:
- How to Pass the Nevada Real Estate Exam?
- How Much do Real Estate Agents Make in Nevada?
- Strategies to Be a Successful Real Estate Agent in Nevada
(**) Affiliate Disclosure: Please note that some of the links above are affiliate links, and at no additional cost to you. Our website, RealEstateCareerHQ.com, will earn a commission if you decide to make a purchase after clicking on the link. Please understand that we include them based on our experience or the research on these companies or products, and we recommend them because they are helpful and useful, not because of the small commissions we make if you decide to buy something through the links. Please do not spend any money on these products unless you feel you need them or that they will help you achieve your goals.
Disclaimer: The information in this post is for general information only, and not intend to provide any advice. They are subjected to change without any notice, and not guaranteed to be error-free. Some of the posts on RealEstateCareerHQ.com may contain views and opinions from the interviewees. They do not reflect our view or position.
- Nevada Real Estate Division
- Nevada Real Estate Candidate Handbook (source)
- Nevada Code – Chapter 645 Real Estate Brokers and Salesperson (source)
- Bureau of Labor Statistics – Real Estate Agents (Source)