(**) Disclosure: This post may contain affiliate links, meaning our company, JCHQ Publishing will get a commission if you decide to make a purchase through the links, but at no additional cost to you.
To become a real estate agent in Utah, an applicant must be at least 18 years old, complete 120 hours of pre-licensing courses, pass the salesperson exam, go through a background check, submit an application and license fee to the Utah Division of Real Estate.
Before you decide to pursue further in this profession, it’s important to know what the role of a real estate salesperson is. To put it simply, an agent acts as an intermediary between buyer and seller in order to facilitate the sale or purchase of property.
They help clients find homes that meet their needs and negotiate contracts with sellers for those homes. Some agents also help clients in searching for a rental property or lease out their units.
In this guide, you’ll learn about the step-by-step process to become a real estate salesperson in Utah, income figures, career updates and FAQ on this profession.
But before we start, I want to give a brief disclaimer. This post is not intended as legal advice or state/federal real estate training. It is for general information only. Please always follow your State laws and best practices.
A Quick Table Summary of Becoming a Real Estate Salesperson in Utah
At least 18 years of age
Citizen of the United States or lawfully admitted alien
Have a valid Social Security Number
Hold a high school diploma or equivalent
|120 hours of pre-licensing courses|
18 hours of continuing education each license term
|110 questions |
165 minutes of writing time
Consists of National Portion and State Portion
Required passing score is 75
|Pre-licensing courses fees – $390 to $525 (approximately)|
Application fee – $100
Recovery fund fee- $12
Fingerprint processing fee- $40
FBI RAPBACK enrollment fee- $5
Exam fee- $59
8 Steps to Become a Real Estate Agent in Utah
Step 1: Meet the eligibility requirement
- Citizen of the United States or lawfully admitted alien
- At least 18 years old
- Have a valid Social Security Number
- Hold a high school diploma or equivalent
Step 2: Complete the pre-licensing education
You are required to take 120 class hours of Real Estate Principles and Practices. Below is the content outline:
- Ownership of Real Estate (12 hours)
- Real Estate Brokerage and the Law of Agency (12 hours)
- Contracts (16 hours)
- Property Management (4 hours)
- Settlement (8 hours)
- Federal Taxation (2 hours)
- Real Estate Finance (16 hours)
- Valuation and Appraisal (6 hours)
- New Construction (2 hours)
- Math Skills (4 hours)
- Federal Laws (6 hours)
- Utah Law (24 hours)
- Testing and Review (8 hours)
I just checked with an approved education provider. Their course fee is around $390 to $525. After you complete the pre-licensing courses, you must write the real estate exam within one year.
Step 3: Pass the Utah Real Estate Salesperson Exam
The Utah real estate salesperson exam has 110 questions with 165 minutes of writing time. It consists of the General Portion and the State Portion. The required passing score is 70 for both portions. It is administered by the Pearson Vue and the exam fee is $59.
You may create an account on their website and register to write an exam.
At the day of the exam, make sure to bring along at least two valid IDs to verify your identity. Else, they won’ let you write it. The primary ID must be government issued and photo-bearing with a signature (i.e.: driver’s license, state ID, passport, military ID.). The second piece must contain a valid signature. (i.e.: U.S Social Security card, debt/credit card)
After you write the exam, you’ll receive a score report indicating “pass” or “fail.” If you pass, you’ll receive further information on how to apply for a real estate license. Else, you need to retake the exam. But you must wait at least 24 hours before making another reservation.
The exam is to test your knowledge on the real estate topics that are covered in the pre-license education. I’ll also include more details on what will be tested later in this guide.
Step 4: Go through a background check
The Utah Division of Real Estate is responsible for issuing licenses to real estate salesperson and brokers. To protect the public interest, all real estate salesperson must go through a criminal background check. At the Pearson Vue testing center, you need to complete and sign a CERTIFICATION OF LEGAL PRESENCE. You’ll also go through the “Qualifying Questionnaire.”
1. Are you at least 18 years of age?
2. Do you attest that you have a high school diploma or GED?
3. Have you EVER had a professional or occupational credential (license, registration, certification, or similar authorization to work in a professional or occupational capacity) denied, revoked, or suspended?
4. Have you EVER had a professional or occupational credential (license, registration, certification, or similar authorization to work in a professional or occupational capacity) sanctioned? Sanctions include, but are not limited to, having a credential restricted, limited, placed on probation, being required to pay a fine or penalty, take education, or comply with any other condition?
5. Have you EVER been sanctioned or banned from engaging in any activity by Freddie Mac, Fannie Mae, FHA (HUD), VA, or similar organization for any period of time or for any reason?
6. Have you EVER been ordered to cease and desist from any conduct related to a professional or occupational credential (license, registration, certification, or similar authorization to work in a professional or occupational capacity)?
7. Have you EVER allowed a professional or occupational credential (license, registration, certification, or similar authorization to work in a professional or occupational capacity) to expire or lapse while you were under investigation by a regulatory or licensing body, or while a regulatory action was pending against you?
8. Do you have knowledge of any complaint, investigation, or disciplinary action CURRENTLY ongoing or pending against you by a regulatory or licensing body?
9. Have you EVER been convicted of, or pled guilty or nolo contendere to a felony, class A misdemeanor, class B misdemeanor, or comparable criminal offense? A traffic offense can be prosecuted as a felony, class A misdemeanor, class B misdemeanor, or comparable criminal offense. Where this is the case disclosure is required.
10. Have you EVER resolved a felony, class A misdemeanor, class B misdemeanor, or comparable criminal offense through a plea in abeyance, diversion agreement, withheld judgment, or other method whereby a charge was held in suspense during a period of time in which you were on probation or were obligated to comply with conditions outlined by a court? A traffic offense can be prosecuted as a felony, class A misdemeanor, class B misdemeanor, or comparable criminal offense. Where this is the case disclosure is required.
11. Currently, are you aware of any investigation(s), indictment(s), or criminal charge(s) for any crime in any jurisdiction which are pending against you?
12. Have you EVER been courts martial or discharged other than honorably from any branch of the armed services?
13. Have you EVER been required to register as a sex offender?
14. Have you EVER had a judgment entered against you in a civil court or in a bankruptcy court on the basis of fraud, misrepresentation, or deceit, or in any matter related to the purchase, sale, management, finance, loan origination, or valuation of real estate?
15. Have you EVER been found in contempt of court?Quote from Pearson Vue Utah Real Estate Candidate Handbook
If you answer “Yes” to any of the above questions, you will need to provide all supporting documents.
Furthermore, after you write the exam, you are required to submit a fingerprint. If you have made an advance appointment, you may perform at Pearson Vue. Else, you may do so with another approved vendor.
Step 5: Submit an application to Utah Division of Real Estate
To register with the Utah Division of Real Estate, you need to submit a Salesperson Application. You must do so within 90 days of passing the real estate exam.
In there, it will ask for your personal details, the pre-licensing course completion certificate, and some background questions. You may submit the online application at the eGov portal and all required documents can be uploaded there. Just make sure all the files are in PDF format.
There is a $157 non-refundable fee. ($100 application fee, $12 recovery fund fee, $40 fingerprint processing fee, and $5 FBI RAPBACK enrollment fee)
Step 6: Join a real estate brokerage
To activate your salesperson license In Utah, you must be affiliate with a principal broker. This is the firm who would sponsor your real estate license.
Finding a good trainer is crucial at the initial stage of your real estate career. It’s important to learn a repeatable and systematic process in running your business profitably.
When choosing a real estate brokerage, many people only focus on the commission split, but there are many other factors you also need to consider.
For example, what type of training will they provide? Will they equip you with the skills in finding qualify prospects and closing a sale? Is there a shared office space you could use? Can the brokerage provide you with adequate administrative and marketing support? Will they provide you with leads to work on? Do they utilize up-to-date technology (i.e.: CRM, software subscription) to streamline the daily workflow.
Step 7: Maintain the real estate license
All Utah real estate licensees must renew the salesperson license every two year. You must do so before the expiration date but no sooner than 45 days prior it.
You may renew it through the RELMS system. The renewal fee is $60.
Furthermore, you need to complete 18 hours of real estate continuing education during each license term. The curriculum must include:
- At least 9 of the 18 hours must be Core Topic Courses;
- Within the Core Topic Courses, there must have a Division approved 3-Hour Mandatory Course.
If you are a new real estate licensee, you need to take the:
- New Agent Course (12 hours)
- Mandatory Course (3 hours)
- An additional 3 hours of CE (either Core Topic or Elective hours).
So know your deadlines and don’t wait until the last minute to complete CE and renew your license. Failure to renew on time not only result in late renewal fee of $100, but it can cause interruption to your business.
Step 8: Keep up with the Utah real estate laws
In order to be successful in the real estate industry, it’s better to keep up with the latest laws and best practices. You may read over the Utah Administrative Code Rule R162-2f “Real Estate Licensing and Practices Rule” and the Utah Code Chapter 2f Real Estate Licensing and Practices Act.
In there, you can learn essential rules that are applicable to your real estate activities – for example, licensing requirements, use of personal assistants, requirements and restrictions in advertising.
Want to know whether being a real estate agent is a good career path? I connected with several real estate professionals, and they shared their thought and experience of this industry with me. You may read their valuable insight here.
Let’s Take a Closer Look at the Utah Real Estate Exam!
Here’s the content of the General Portion:
|General Portion Exam Content||Scored Items|
|Real Property Characteristics||9|
|Forms of Ownership, Transfer and Recording of Title||8|
|Property Value and Appraisal||11|
|Real Estate Contracts and Agency||16|
|Real Estate Practice||14|
|Property disclosures and Environmental Issues||8|
|Financing and Settlement||7|
|Real Estate Math Calculations||7|
|Total Scored Items||80|
Here is the exam content of the State Portion:
|State-Specific Portion||# of items|
|Real Estate Office Procedures||4-5|
|Real Estate Education, Research and Recovery Fund||1-2|
|Additional State Topics||1-3|
|Total Scored Items||50|
Tips to prepare for the Utah Real Estate Exam
How can I retake the Utah real estate exam?
If you only pass one section of the Utah real estate exam, you need to retake the failed section within six months. But you must wait at lease 24 hours after writing the exam before making a retest reservation.
However, rather than retaking the exam, it’s better to be well prepared and pass it on the first try. This way, you may start your real estate business asap. Doing practice questions is an excellent way to prepare for the real estate exam and also boost your confidence.
The Colibri is the online school that I like. Their Exam Prep have helped thousands of students pass their exam on the first try. They even have a “Pass or Don’t Pay” Guarantee. That’s why confident they are with their program. You may click here to view their exam prep. (**)
FAQ about Real Estate License in Utah
How much does it cost to get a real estate license in Utah?
It costs approximately $741 to get a real estate license in Utah. Here’s the breakdown:
- Pre-licensing courses fees – $390 to $525 (approximately)
- Application fee – $100
- Recovery fund fee- $12
- Fingerprint processing fee- $40
- FBI RAPBACK enrollment fee- $5
- Exam fee- $59
The above are just the costs of getting the salesperson license. In addition, to start a real estate business, there will be other expenses involved such as MLS subscription, E&O premium, phone, internet, and office supplies, CE courses, and renewal fees.
Also, you may want to invest into exam prep. This can increase your chance in passing the exam on the first try, so that you don’t need to waste time and money in retaking it.
How long does it take to become a real estate agent in Utah?
It takes approximately five months to become a real estate agent in Utah. But it also depends on the time it takes you to complete the pre-licensing course, exam, application, and get sponsorship by a licensed real estate brokerage.
I have a real estate license in another state. Can I become licensed in Utah by applying through reciprocity?
Yes, you may apply for Utah real estate license with states that has a reciprocity agreement. This includes Georgia, Mississippi, and Alberta. Here’s the Reciprocal Application and there is a non-refundable fee of $157.
If you have an active real estate license from a state that does NOT have a reciprocity agreement with Utah, you might qualify for a waiver of some education and/or national exam requirements. Here’s the Real Estate Education Waiver Request form.
Can a felon be a real estate salesperson in Utah?
The Utah Division of Real Estate places huge emphasis on the applicant’s honesty, trustworthiness, character and integrity. When evaluating an application, the Division will consider:
(i) criminal convictions with particular consideration given to any such acts involving:
(A) a felony conviction occurring within the five years preceding the date of application;
(B) a jail or prison term resulting from a felony conviction with a release date falling within the five years preceding the date of application;
(C) a conviction of a class A or class B misdemeanor, or similar offense, involving fraud, misrepresentation, theft, or dishonesty occurring within the three years preceding the date of application; orQuote from Utah Admin. Code 162-2f-201
But don’t get discouraged as everyone has a past. The most important is that you can demonstrate that you will serve the public in a fair, honest, and open manner.
Here’s another post that covers how to apply for a real estate license with a felony record. In there, you’ll find practical ideas which could help your application.
How to become a commercial real estate agent in Utah?
To become a commercial real estate agent in Utah, an applicant must be at least 18 years old, complete 120 hours of pre-licensing courses, pass the salesperson exam, go through a background check, submit an application and license fee to the Utah Division of Real Estate.
Basically, it is the same requirement as we just went through because most states do not issue separate licenses for residential and commercial agents.
Furthermore, if you are going to pursue a career as a CRE agent, you should look for a brokerage that could give you the right support and resources.
Here’s the “Complete Guide to a Commercial Real Estate Agent Career“, where I cover the career outlook, earning potential, and valuable feedback from CRE agents. Be sure to check it out.
I have more questions about the Utah real estate license, whom should I contact?
You may contact the Utah Division of Real Estate:
- Phone: 801-530-6747
- Email: email@example.com
- Fax: 801-530-6749
They also have a live chat option.
Real Estate Career Updates in Utah
How much do real estate agent make in Utah?
Real estate agents in Utah earn an average yearly income of $72,280, typically range between $30,440 and $79,000. Top 10% of high-earning real estate sales agents are making over $147,710 per year.(*)
At the beginning phase in your real estate career, you probably would not make a lot, because it takes time to build up the client base and established trust with the prospects. As you continue to gain experience and sharpen your business skills, you should be able to notice a significant improvement to your earning.
Furthermore, your earning potential as a real estate agent would depend on the price range of the properties that you work with, the number of transactions you could complete, the commission splitting schedule with the real estate brokerage and other factors.
(*) Source: Bureau of Labor Statistics
Is being real estate agent a good career in Utah?
Real estate can be a good career in Utah if you enjoy running a self-employed business, interacting with different people and have flexible work hours.
According to the RedFin, as of May 2021, there were 4,251 homes sold, and the median sales prices was $460,000. As I’m reviewing the data now, it seems that the demand far exceeded the housing supply. In fact, 66.2% of homes were sold above the list price.
These transaction volume shows a significant demand for real estate agents. According to Bureau of Labor Statistics (May 2020), there were 2,100 real estate sales agents in Utah, which worked out to be 1.41 sales agent per 1,000 jobs.
However, there are always people succeeding and failing in each industry. The utmost importance is how you can remain competitive in the real estate market.
So that’s all I have to share for now. Do you like this guide? If so, please share it.
Looking to succeed in the real estate industry? Subscribe to our exclusive email list today and gain access to expertly curated real estate guides from industry leaders, as well as discounted CE courses and the latest industry updates. From marketing strategies to virtual staging techniques, our handpicked resources cover everything you need to know to stay ahead of the game. Click here for more details!
(**) Affiliate Disclosure: Please note that some of the links above are affiliate links, and at no additional cost to you. Our company, JCHQ Publishing will earn a commission if you decide to make a purchase after clicking on the link. Please understand that we include them based on our experience or the research on these companies or products, and we recommend them because they are helpful and useful, not because of the small commissions we make if you decide to buy something through the links. Please do not spend any money on these products unless you feel you need them or that they will help you achieve your goals.
Disclaimer: The information in this post is for general information only, and not intend to provide any advice. They are subjected to change without any notice, and not guaranteed to be error-free. Some of the posts on this site may contain views and opinions from individual not related to JCHQ Publishing. They do not necessarily reflect our view or position.
- Utah Department of Commerce – Division of Real Estate (source)
- Pearson Vue Utah Real Estate Candidate Handbook (source)
- Bureau of Labor Statistics – Real Estate Agents (Source)
- RedFin – Utah Housing Market (source)